fuji gran tour single speed cx cyclo cross conversion

eBay Bike Blues

I’m really not blue about it, but eBay sure has been letting me down lately.

I’ve bought four bikes/frames from eBay this year. Three of the four were not as described/damaged on arrival (DOA), and I’m currently in the process of returning the last one. Hopefully I can get a full refund as eBay is usually good about that, but I’ve certainly been screwed over a few times by their faulty system.

Before this year,

I had bought two bikes and one frame-set from eBay. Only the frame-set was in good/as described condition, so out of seven total eBay bike/frame purchases, I’ve had two good experiences, and one of those was a local transaction where I actually got to look the item over before accepting it. Luckily, I never really lost out on any eBay buys, but that’s because I try to keep my purchases to items where I know I can make a profit no matter what. Otherwise, it’s just too much of a gamble, and this applies to everything on eBay, not only bikes.

There are great deals to be had on eBay… if you are patient and ready to deal with the possibility of returning the item and going through the oft-agonizing returns process. Most people are definitely better off dealing locally though. There’s no reason you can’t get a great deal shopping locally if you do your research and study up on what to look for when buying a used bike.

Ride safe!

Leave a Reply

